Chapeau, Ben Franklin

When Mrs. Stallion and I moved to a new residence this summer, I took little note of the wood stove listed as “supplemental heating”.

As I type this, it is a seasonable 30°F outside.  Inside, it is a decidedly unseasonable 81°F.  Supplemental, huh?  I think our “primary” gas furnace has run for a grand total of about 48 hours.

I think we’re going to be spoiled by this thing.

  1. #1 by Roger Green on November 28, 2010 - 5:37 am

    81! I could deal, but my wife would HATE it.

  2. #2 by Bryan on December 12, 2010 - 6:51 pm

    I grew up in a house that had a wood stove and loved it. Wish I had one now.

    • #3 by mildstallion on December 12, 2010 - 10:00 pm

      I just checked the stats – your average high for today is 66; our record high is 62! I don’t think we even considered heating until the high temps got down below 60.

      It’s such a fine line – I will ride outside as low as 48 degrees, but I don’t think we’re seeing decent riding weather (for me) until April.

      • #4 by Bryan on December 12, 2010 - 10:24 pm

        Our weather has been way below average the last two weeks. The low tonight is 30 with 23 mph winds. The high tomorrow is 44 with a low of 26. Friday it’s supposed to be 71. Craziness.

  1. Fringe Benefit « Mild Stallion

Leave a Reply

