So Much For That Experiment

Note: Sorry about the dearth of posts.  I’ve got a lengthier one in the works.

So yesterday was an island of great cycling weather in between two crappy days.  I left work early in order to get in a good 2 hour-plus ride in lovely Vischer Ferry.  I get home and notice I have a flat on my rear tire.  Ugh.  I’m no wrench but I can repair a flat.

Now, I’ve seen competitions (on You Tube anyway) of people changing out a tube in under a minute.  You will notice I don’t appear in these videos.  I take my time to remove the old tube and try to locate the failure.  After wrestling with it for what felt like 20 minutes I find that the failure was a puncture through the sidewall.  Of my Continental Gatorskins.

Aren’t these supposed to be the tires with awesome sidewall protection?  I haven’t had a puncture flat in 5 years.  Add this to the lame road feel of these tires and I will never buy them again.  In fact, the tire that replaced it on my bike is an old GP4000 front tire that was destined for the trainer as a rear wheel beater.  Well, it’s getting pressed into service about a month early.

If you’re interested, the GP4000s have a much livelier road feel and I run them at about 10psi lower than the Gatorskins.  I guess there’s a reason that the GP4000s are a go-to model for so many riders.  They WILL be on my bike come next spring.

P.S. – the latex gloves I keep in the garage for this type of bike work – especially anything that involves fiddling with the chain – are a great idea.  That black grime that can get on your skin does not wash away easily.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Bryan on September 30, 2010 - 9:52 am

    I had heard those Gatorskins were supposed to be good. In fact, I was looking for one a few weeks ago when I was having puncture problems (two punctured tires and three flats on three rides…ouch). Alas, no local shops carried them (go figure….see my last post on the Local Bike Shop Rant) so I ended up getting a Bontrager Race Lite Hardcase for my rear tire. I like it so far.

    • #2 by mildstallion on September 30, 2010 - 10:10 am

      I’m curious to know how your new tire works out. A few years ago I purchased a Bontrager cheapo for the trainer and that thing barely wore down over 5+ months on a trainer.

      Ironically, I got the Gatorskins partly in order to do a solid for my LBS.

  1. Exclusive Interview! « Mild Stallion

Leave a Reply

