A Case of Guilt Gut

I remember the term “guilt gut” as the feeling you get in your stomach when you knew that you did something wrong.

Tonight was going to be a ride day.  Turns out, I get stuck in traffic on the way home from work.  It took about 3 times as long as usual.  So I get home and I’m a little stressed and tired.  Mrs. Stallion suggests riding tomorrow and going out for dinner.

The combination of being a good husband and lack of discipline made the decision for me.  So of course, I could do the right thing health-wise and get a satisfying light meal.  I do the exact opposite; an Italian Mix sub.  At least I was able to resist the temptation for dessert.

The feeling afterward was that of Guilt Gut.  In a literal sense, I felt very full.  This was a big, big sandwich eaten with a 20 ounce soda.  In a figurative sense, I felt terrible for the 180 degree turn my evening took.  Instead of exercise and oatmeal, I ate an unhealthy dinner and watched TV.

There have been times like this in the past.  Most of the time I don’t learn from it.  Sometimes, however, the light goes on and discipline returns.  I want that to happen this time.  I hate the guilty feeling because I know what I did was wrong.

,

  1. #1 by Bryan on August 10, 2010 - 10:36 pm

    Al, I know what you mean. I’ve had this happen to me a lot and I guess we both need to learn from it. Any suggestions?

    • #2 by mildstallion on August 10, 2010 - 10:43 pm

      What works best for me is carrying the feeling into the next morning. I need to pass the first test. If I can make it past that, sometimes it gets easier. It all comes back to discipline and making good choices.

  2. #3 by Sarahh on August 11, 2010 - 9:26 am

    Definitely carry it into the next day. But maybe starting to substitute water for soda might take the sting out of those indulgences as well. All in all, an Italian sub has SOME stuff that your body needs. The soda, not so much….

    • #4 by mildstallion on August 11, 2010 - 9:37 am

      I’ve been drinking more and more seltzer to displace soda (Coke Zeroes) at home and parties. I still sip water all the time at home. Love the fridge dispenser!

Leave a Reply

