I can’t believe I’m thinking this

A thought crackled through my brain as I was looking at the weather forecast for this week.

“I do better on the Trainer”

Blasphemy.

I utter this in the middle of July?  What the Hell am I thinking?  The trainer is supposed to be the embodiment of a tortuous, monotony-filled, claustrophobic bore-fest of a winter season that seemingly drags on forever.  I should be reveling in the delights of a summer season filled with new personal bests, long rides pushing up against 3 hours and the occasional unsupported metric century.

The reality: I have been doing about two rides a week since Memorial Day.  My fitness has taken a big hit and my weight is creeping up (slowly, thank God).  Most of last summer and into the current one my riding has become increasingly sporadic.  Goals go out the window and I’m happy just to get something in.

The irony is that during the winter my rides on the Trainer are scheduled out.  I can say with a high degree of certainty that I will do 3 rides every week, and occasionally a bonus one.  Also, I’m realizing that the quick weight workout I do after trainer rides is more beneficial that I thought.  The loss of tone is really evident even if the strength losses themselves are moderate.

The solution?  Difficult to say; “ride more” is easier said than done apparently.  I may need to change focus to shorter rides so I can get home from work, do a short (under an hour) ride with a little intensity and still have time to do the other things that may have gotten in the way.  To draw the TdF analogy, now I’m hunting for stage wins.

,

  1. #1 by Bryan on July 12, 2010 - 10:55 am

    Dude, just say no to the trainer. When I do ride during the weekday, I can only get in about an hour or so and have to do the longer rides on the weekend. At least that’s what I was able to do when I was riding and that will likely be the schedule when I start riding again. The key for my riding last summer was following a schedule (i.e. the century training plan). That gave me a reason to ride everyday and it told me how to ride everyday. That’s what I need. Maybe you need the same thing (a structured riding schedule) for the summer since it works for you in the winter.

    My wife and I were actually talking about my riding (and my blog) this weekend and she said that last summer I had a goal (my first century) and I was riding all the time with a purpose. Right now, she said, I don’t have a goal and probably need to get one.

    • #2 by mildstallion on July 12, 2010 - 11:05 am

      I agree about trying to stick to a schedule. I usually find that the weather gets in the way of a good summer schedule, but perhaps if the rides are shorter, weather becomes less of an issue. And honestly on a hot day, riding through a shower can be refreshing.

Leave a Reply

