A Breath of Fresh Air

Well, the work situation is still a bit hectic.  As I mentioned before, my day job is as a computer programmer and I launched a new system a few weeks ago.

Since that time the inevitable fires have needed putting out.  Of course this involves a significant amount of time outside of work in order to keep things under control.  Any time I could get on the bike was a godsend.

Thankfully, I was able to get in my four rides on the trainer each week.  A welcome time to decompress before I buckled down to crank out some more code.

Last week I was fortunate to have my last two rides of the week outside!  It’s always such a great feeling to get out there again.  Four and a half months straight of trainer rides can wear on you.

Now I get to play that game where I have to decide when the trainer is done for good and schedule a time for the annual tune up at the LBS.  I know I will be back on the trainer at least until Wednesday.

Thanks to the vest  I got last year (a Pearl Izumi Zephyrr), I have lowered my threshold temperature down to around 50°F.  I know that it’s supposed to be in the low 50s in the latter part of the week but that’s still a good 7-8° above average.

I’ll take it.  Any day with a ride outside is a good one.  When things get crazy at work some people drink, get prescriptions or take it out on other people.  I ride a bike.  As simple as it sounds, the act of positive physical stress is cleansing to my mind.  That cold spring air along with it is a bonus.

,

  1. #1 by Yokota Fritz on March 18, 2010 - 12:30 pm

    50°?

    80 & sunny here in California, buddy!

    • #2 by mildstallion on March 18, 2010 - 12:41 pm

      ** searches for snappy comeback **

      Well…uh…we don’t have earthquakes. ZING!

  1. Spread love and joy on St. Valentine’s Day : Tamil and English Dot Com

Leave a comment