Craptacular

Ugh.  So I haven’t had a meaningful ride in almost a week.  Taking stock of the last few days it makes sense, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it.

On Monday, I led a conference call at the J-O-B for about 90 minutes.  By the time it was over, my voice was a little rough.  I figured it was from the usual vocal stress of talking for over an hour.  I drank some water and forgot about it.

When I woke up on Tuesday morning, I felt like a golf ball had been forced into my larynx.  My voice sounded like I was channeling some weird mashup of Barry White and Tone Loc.  While it was fun to play with this new sound, it hurt.

It simmered for a couple days, but by Thursday it had become a problem.  I actually completed 25 minutes on the trainer doing some easy tempo, but even at that pace I could feel every breath irritate my throat.  I was sure it was Strep, so I went to the doc.  Turns out, no Strep.  It’s some upper respiratory virus – wait it out for a week and take some vitamin I.

Side note: They had to weigh me for some reason.  I tipped in at 186.  That was hard to take.  The heart rate of 56 mitigated it somewhat.

Today I felt like I was turning the corner, but now I think I have a full-blown cold.  To quote Samir, “This is a suck!”

Mrs. Stallion had gotten me some new training vids, and I’m dying to try them out, but now I have to wait.  They say you can still train and ride as long as your illness doesn’t go below your neck.  I don’t think I’m that desperate yet, and I don’t want to redirect my body’s energy to non virus-killing activities.

Does this count as rock bottom for my fitness and weight?  I dunno, but I need to turn things around post haste.  Not liking the trend.

  1. #1 by Sarahh on December 20, 2009 - 7:39 am

    Things will get better. Rest now to ride another day.

    • #2 by mildstallion on December 20, 2009 - 1:35 pm

      Thanks. Good perspective.

  2. #3 by Roger Green on December 20, 2009 - 9:54 am

    Feel better, bubbie. I had something that felt as though it lasted a couple weeks from my sinuses to my lungs. This too shall pass.

    • #4 by mildstallion on December 20, 2009 - 1:36 pm

      Mucho appreciado. Bonus points for the Yiddish.

  3. #5 by Sarahh on December 20, 2009 - 3:09 pm

    Good thing the Yiddish is right on, ’cause your Spanish…not so much.

  4. #6 by mildstallion on December 20, 2009 - 9:17 pm

    I took the Steve Martin approach and just went with the accent. See: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xq8IqZXy1s8

Leave a Reply

