It’s Go Time

When I saw the forecast for this week, I knew it would be a good one.  I planned on riding four days this week, and that’s saying something this year.

This season has been pretty bad in terms of riding volume.  I counted 7 rides for all of August.  That’s it.  In a normal year that total would be around 12.  They would also be longer rides.  I was averaging about 2½ hours per ride last year and this year it’s dropped to about 2 hours flat.

It’s been the same old gremlins that get me: weather and schedule conflicts.  July was the rainiest on record, and August had a host of non-cycling commitments.  Ergo July and August combine for 15 rides.  Pathetic.

Then there’s this week.  The weather is awesome – 70s, low humidity, light wind.  I’ve already been out twice and have two more on the calendar.  It’s such a small thing, but it’s huge in my riding confidence.  My average speed on rides is down a good half a mile per hour.  If I can push it as I have done so far this week, I can have good form going into the cool weather season of late September and October.  If the vest I’m purchasing works out, I could conceivably ride at least a week into November.  Anything to delay the trainer season.

They say Spring is the season of renewal.  If things go as planned this week, Spring will move to September.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Chad on September 2, 2009 - 10:26 am

    I’m with you there. Last summer I got to ride a lot more, but this summer home projects and scheduling conflicts have kept me off the bike. I’m hoping to pick up the mileage before winter sets in as well. Good luck finding spring again!

  2. #2 by mildstallion on September 2, 2009 - 10:57 am

    @Chad: Thanks for stopping by. I tell ya, it’s funny how life can get in the way of riding.

Leave a Reply

