Bummer-Free Zone

BummerI could take the low road.  I could go on about Tyler, the weather, my weight, work and countless other things bringing me down.  But I don’t.

I choose to believe that this will be a good week.  I should get my bike back from the shop, running in top condition (such as it is).  The weather for the end of the week looks to be awesome, and I plan on getting in some quality time on my new tires – Conti GP 4000 700x25s.

I think I have had one of my better trainer seasons (thanks Sufferfest); my first forays on to the pavement have been better than in years past.  Now that the true outdoor weather is upon me, it’s time to build up the endurance.  So far, it’s only been two hours for the longest ride.  That needs to go up to three hours soon.

This is a weird time for me bike-wise.  I can’t ride at all; I only have the one bike, and while I do enjoy long walks with my wife (around an hour long), they don’t have the same calorie expenditure.

I choose to think about training for my goals for this year.  I want to do the Mohawk-Hudson Century in September.  For various reasons, I haven’t ridden it since my first time in 2006.  I have no doubt I will do better this time.  I’m in better condition and my endurance by that time of the season will easily be better than it was in 2006.  Last year my longest rides were about 65 miles, or as I liked to call them, unsupported metric centuries.

Of course, I intend to climb Lake Desolation Road without unclipping like I did last time.  I will need to do more hill repeats to train for it, but I feel better prepared for it mentally.  I did not defeat me last year, it just made me more determined.

These are the positive thoughts I will dwell upon in the upcoming days.  There is much to be looking forward to.  I get my bike back, Fleche-Wallone, Liege Bastogne Liege.  I’m not gonna let life get me down.  It’s gonna be a good week.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

