Day Four

Close call today – I went to the vending machine here at the office intending to by a regular Coke.  By sheer force of habit I pushed the Diet Coke button and didn’t even notice it.  Fortunately, I only got about four steps away before it hit me.  Luckily I was able to pass it off to a coworker who will have it later.

I consumed another regular, sugary sweet Coke.  I don’t think that’s going to last long; it’s just not the same.  On Monday I will remove another layer of temptation in that I won’t be in the vicinity of the vending machines every morning.  You see, myself and a few other coworkers venture to the ground floor cafeteria here every morning around 9:15.  Starting Monday, I won’t be going anymore.  It was a nice little distraction to start off my workday, but I paid the price.  Not just in aspartame, but in extra calories.  Often I would succumb to temptation to get a bag of chips or a muffin.

Crimes of opportunity I suppose.  It was there, it looked good and I grabbed it.  Those muffins had to be at least 300-400 calories apiece.  Yikes.

The weekend looks promising; fewer temptations and two more days away from caffeine.  Next week will hopefully be the real turning point.  I still have cravings, but they are waning.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

