Don’t Hassle Me, I’m Local

Not too long ago, I posted about my recent trip to Desolation.  When I went to post it, I was a little skittish about it.  After all, how many people out there know where Middle Grove is?

It’s great to talk about my rides, but can how well can it really translate to people who have never ridden there?

There are certain commonalities to many rides; the elevation profile, sketchy intersections, places prone to the dreaded right hook.  Ride narratives can get generic this way, or perhaps better stated they adhere to a kind of ad-hoc standard of description.

After all, other bloggers I read (Bike Noob, Biking To Live, Fat Cyclist) refer to their local routes all the time and I have built a mental image of them.  I guess it’s the specifics of a route that lend to it’s quality.  I can get a general sense of an elevation profile (false flat, epic lung-burner, etc.) but it’s harder to convey something like the smells of people grilling dinner as I pass through certain neighborhoods, or how flags can be waving in opposite directions within 10 feet of each other on the same street.

Hopefully I can convey what it’s like to do my routes.  I guess it’s not the route itself but it is the idiosyncrasies therein.  Hope you enjoy the theater of the mind.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Roger Green on September 29, 2008 - 9:55 am

    You’re right – you can “paint the picture” of the State Street hill, (something I couldn’t make in April, but could by October, BTW) by mentioning the angle or the angst of taking it.

  2. #2 by mildstallion on September 29, 2008 - 10:54 am

    Funny how a lot of hills are easier in October vs. April.

    I’d love to take the State Street climb, but those lights would put a damper on it.

    Check out MapMyRide and you can get a nice elevation profile. The site is a slow loader, though.

Leave a Reply

