Planting The Seed

Last week I took the bike to the LBS for a mechanical tweak.  Turns out it was a minor issue; the chainring derailleur and big ring weren’t a match made in heaven, so the wrench there made some small adjustments and the ticking from the chainring is now gone.

It got me thinking realistically again about getting a new bike for myself and the missus.  Fundage doesn’t exist for it anytime soon, but if I get to saving now I think two years hence is doable.  I’m going to want a combination of speed and comfort; mid-summer rides are rarely shorter than 2½ hours.  I’m also consistently averaging between 18 and 18.4 mph on these rides; a far cry from when I was psyched to do 16 mph.

Ironically, I live about 12 miles from the Serotta factory.  Man, I’d love to ride one of those, but unless I can cough up at least three thousand bucks, I think I’m SOL.  I have to keep a rational head about this.  I’ve been riding my trusty Schwinn Worldsport (1992, I think) for about 15 years now.  I plan on riding the next bike for a long time as well.

A smarter guy than me, Garmin-Chipotle DS Jonathan Vaughters, had this to say:

“The difference between a $500 bike and a $1,500 bike is huge, the difference between a $1,500 bike and an $8,000 bike is very small.”

 

 

 

 

I’m sure bike shops weren’t too fond of that remark, but it has to be true.  My gut tells me to expect to put out around $2,000.  I also figure a good comfort bike for Mrs. Stallion will be pushing 4 figures as well, but I don’t think an upright will get that pricey.  She’ll probably get a better value than I will.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Bryan on September 15, 2008 - 7:20 pm

    I hear you about old bikes. I bought my Cannondale back in 1995 for about $500 but it has been a champ. I’ll eventually upgrade to something a little more comfortable but will have to wait for fundage. I want to drop the weight as well so I can put a good machine to work.

  2. #2 by mildstallion on September 16, 2008 - 8:53 am

    That sounds like a nice incentive plan. I hope I don’t fall for something because of the name on the frame. I really want something I’m going to enjoy riding rather than try to show off. I almost always ride solo anyway.

  3. #3 by Sarahh on September 16, 2008 - 11:39 pm

    Hm, does this mean I should be gauche and just send cash this Christmahanukwaanzukah? That way we can contribute to the Bike Fund for you and Mrs. Stallion….

  4. #4 by mildstallion on September 17, 2008 - 8:39 am

    I have to come up with a plan to end up with $3k in about 2 years or so. I think I can get close.

Leave a Reply

