The Grand Paradox of the Parking Garage

Where I work we have an open-air covered parking garage that connects directly to the building.  I usually get there before most people, and I like to park far enough from the entrance that I can walk for a couple of minutes; it helps me to shake out some of the morning’s cobwebs.

During the dog days of summer, I really treasure the conditions of a pleasant morning.  I often think about how great the weather is at that moment compared to the afternoon ride time.  The afternoon will be typical: high 80s, humid and breezy.  However, as I walk across the parking garage, all I can think about is how great it would be to be out on the bike right now.  It’s in the low 70s, a nearly calm wind with the air especially fresh.

I consider taking a day off during the week to get out and ride on a nice Summer morning – and therein lies the paradox.  I am NOT a morning person by any stretch.  On those rare occasions that I don’t have to go to work on a weekday morning, I would either be sleeping or groggily bumping around my house at the time I would otherwise be walking across the parking garage.  Also, morning drivers aren’t the same people they are in the afternoon.  The same routes I take at 5:30 PM I would never consider at 7:30 AM.

So, as I merrily stride towards the office door, I sigh as I am committed to the next 8 hours in front of a computer instead of behind the handlebars.  It’s sooo inviting outside, but I know I’ll never realize the dream.  Sort of like the roommate switch.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

