I think I Might Be An Athlete

Is it purely about competition, or is it simply doing a sporting activity in a way that is more than just a workout?

I want to say that I am.  I don’t compete – I’ve already posted that I’m not a racer.  To be sure, when I see another rider up the road I want to catch them.  Badly.

I have done a century in the past (2006) and would do another one this September if not for a scheduling conflict.  I may be a Fred, but I’m a Fred who has done his share of miles.

One thing athletes do is train.  I don’t like to ride just to see the sights or burn a few calories.  I like to wear myself out and burn 2500 calories.  When I see a long flat stretch of road I think Time Trial – high steady effort just short of blowing up.

I look forward to climbs.  I may not climb fast, but I enjoy it.  There’s a masochistic bent among us riders; it’s the joy of the pain. If I don’t hurt, I didn’t try hard enough.

Even in winter I’m on the trainer on a regular basis (3-4 times per week).  Here in upstate New York that’s a solid 5 month block.  If you’re not a dedicated rider, you can’t force yourself on to a trainer that often.  I actually look forward to it.

, ,

  1. #1 by Sarahh on August 8, 2008 - 3:08 pm

    You ARE an athlete. Not every athlete goes to the Olympics. And on that note, think good thoughts for my own inner athlete’s impending Inka Trail hike!

  2. #2 by mildstallion on August 8, 2008 - 3:29 pm

    Nothing like some good high-altitude training.

Leave a Reply

